top of page
Search

Interview with Dominique Snedeker

Dominique is a United States Air force graduate with a bachelors of Science in English. She currently lives with her husband and three boys in North Dakota. Dominique is active in her church and prayer team, enjoys cooking, and exercising. Her book, Motherhood: The Crucible of Love, dives into the struggles of transition from the life of a professional worker to a full time mommy. Her book explores the post-partum journey of self-discovery and the crises parents face when life is no longer about their needs. Below you will read a questionnaire with Dominique to get to know her on a personal level.



Where were you born and raised?

Shoreline, Washington (near Seattle)


What got you into writing poetry?

I've always written poetry. It's a release valve for lots of things: hope, anticipation, and stress. Some of my best writing has come from days at work when I had looming deadlines. A poem won't let me focus, so I would write it up then then move on with my day. Usually it would be a really good one. I need no time and lots of pressure to to get my poems.


What type of poetry do you write and why?

Free verse. I don't like rhymes as much as I used to. However, sometimes the rhythm and rhyme scheme just come out of me. If you'd like to know why, it's because of Edmund Spencer's Faerie Queene. The book entails 250 pages of rhyming poetry with made up archaic spelling that has multiple plots with every biblical and mythological allusion you can think of. In my opinion, the collection would have been much better if it didn't rhyme. I much prefer Milton's Paradise Lost.


Who are your top five favorite poets?

Keats, Shelly, the Brownings, and Shakespeare. I like the romantics. For modern poets, I have found that Pablo Neruda speaks to my soul. I've recently discovered Bunmi Laditan, who is a poet for parents. She and I have many of the same things to say. Her writing is beautiful.


What do you do when you are not writing?

I mostly chase my three boys. Towards homework, away from the oven, from the driveway, and into bed. I do a lot of cooking, which I find satisfying. Sometimes I'm able to workout.


What's your go to writing method?

Exhaustion and midnight. Those produce the best poems. Since I am not a stay at home mom, I don't have looming work deadlines to pressure out a poem. If I'm lucky, my few lone hours at night after everyone is asleep will push a poem out of me.


What are your favorite book genres outside of poetry?

WWII. I am obsessed. Non fiction, fiction, biography, and history.


What are your top favorite five songs?

Roundabout by Yes, The Four Seasons by Vivaldi, Gladiator soundtrack for writing, Awesome God by Rich Mullins, and The Blessings by Kari Jobe


What are your top five favorite movies?

Henry V with Kenneth Branagh, Hunt for Red October, It's a Wonderful Life, Land Before Time, The Princess Bride


If you could get writing advice from anyone alive or deceased, who would that be and why?

I had an English teacher in high school that would rip my writings into shreds. She went on to be a professor at a local university. She tore me up, but my finished product was amazing.


Write two of your favorite poems and write why they are your favorites.


From Motherhood: The Crucible of Love by Dominique M. Snedeker


Motherhood: The Badge


Do you want to find out just what love looks like?

Look into the mirror you tired, weary, worn-out woman

That's not grey paint that hasn't rinsed out of your hair just quite yet

That's what's left of every nutrient, mineral, and vitamin that you quite generously donated

Those dark, gray, blue and black eyes are badges of courage


To the dedication of the selfless acts of valor:


For the nights and days you you fended off the pillow,

For the food you didn't consume and the food you forced,

For the days of tedium and nights that were actually still days,

And days that never turned back into nights...


Look into that mirror and see what love looks like

Love gives when unexpected and when desired

Love goes farther

Love

So much farther than I thought it could go



From the manuscript of Cold:


Grandpa

By: Dominique M. Snedeker


Old hands rough with years and worry

Sitting idle, wishing for fingers clasped

Long and thin, thick and chubby---but

Hands that have since aged and faded

With the rise and fall of wanting


Thumbs thick with dirt reaching into

The bowels of deep brown secrets

Of growing things and future hopes

Now shudder thick with ache and yearning


Oh, winter cold, oh twilight years

This slow decent into sunset

Into geese honking over lakes

Flying ahead of the winter storm


He sits, with blankets draped

Or perhaps memories wrapped---

And waits in solitude, longing

For moonlit nights and dewy sunrise


For fat, sticky giggles, and long low

Luxurious humming as she sews

Or sets the table, and that gaze---

Eyes clear with wintry blue


Hands sit slow and quiet, lingering---

Remaining steadfast in remembrance

And then those hand reach

For that tomato sandwich

Cold and fresh

Like every summer past



Connect with Dominique!


Website:


Goodreads:


Facebook:


Instagram:


TikTok:


Twitter:


LinkedIn:



Purchase the book!


Amazon:


Barnes & Noble:

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/motherhood-dominique-m-snedeker/1141240620







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page