top of page
Search

New Poetry Book

Today, I'd like to talk about a poetry/prose collection I am working on. It will be in the neighborhood of sixty-five pages and will cover a variety of subjects. I was initially sharing work on the social media app for poets (Poetizer), and I came to realize you can publish a book through their publishing company. I went ahead and had one made to just to see how the book would turn out. I'm still waiting on the book to arrive, and I plan on selling physical copies in my Etsy shop once I have enough ordered. In the meantime, I'm formatting the same version as an eBook for everyone to enjoy from their phones or tablets.


This collection will be a book of poetry and prose. I have written a variety of poetry styles including rhyming, free verse, limericks, and acrostics. There are a lot of emotional feelings expressed through this collection including what it is like living in a law enforcement lifestyle. There are silly poems written for fun and more serious poems for every person to enjoy. There will be a slight difference in the physical copy of the book versus the eBook copy. The physical copy will have a basic cover with illustrations throughout the book. The eBook version will be more detailed in the book cover but will not carry illustrations throughout the book. Both versions have pros to owning, and it will be up to you what version is appealing to you the most.


I've had a lot going on in my personal life the past few months, so I needed to create something that is simple and easy to get out into the world. For this reason, I am choosing to only sell physical copies through my Etsy shop. The time and energy spent trying to get a book into a bookstore (even online) is not something I am interested in pursuing with this project.


That being said, I am also working on a novel and trying to finish up my picture book I have been working on. I'd much rather focus on these two big projects and put the proper amount of work into each. I haven't had the best luck with illustrators for the picture book, so I'm trying to figure out the best way to finish the picture book in a professional manner.


I appreciate everyone's patience with my writing journey. This past year has been a challenging year for my family, and much of my time has been dedicated to therapy/doctor's appointments. I think everything is starting to go back to normal, and I'm ready to jump back into writing.


Much love,

Brittany Benko



17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page