top of page
Search

Fear

Updated: Oct 9, 2020

I have an issue deep within Where do I begin? The current flows deep in my chest Constant fear that makes me stressed A trigger by a silly song Takes me to the past The feelings are strong and prolonged I stare ahead in a dream Lowering my self esteem The episode can happen in a blink Causing a strong urge for a drink My breathing gets heavy as I start to see The replay of my past in a vibrant scene My hands become shaky as I live it through Once the memory faded I slowly withdrew My mind tells me it happened long ago But my body can still feel the horrible blow I instruct myself to breathe in and out Two times again When the moment fades I'm in control Making my heart feel whole I go to bed and visit again The reoccurring nightmare of what had been

By: Brittany Benko

This poem is about dealing with post traumatic stress disorder. Photo taken in Conway, SC

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page