top of page
Search

Guest Post by Denis Brown

Updated: Nov 7, 2021

Today on Poetic Poetry, I am introducing Denis Brown: poet and author of A Beautiful Mind is Poetry Defined. Below you will read one of his poems from his book.


A Beautiful Mind


A spinning carousel, fairground attraction

The glitz, the sounds the buzz all around

Bright lights, candy smells, clanging bells

The hysteria, the chase like the crystal maze


So much spin, so much to take in

I slow it down, now I am mesmerized

A sensory overload, before my very eyes

Audio slowed down to a dirge, just for now take my word


Abandoned – fairground, with no one around

Not even a sound!

It's ghostly quiet, a very different place

as if suspended between time and space


Picture this - of a World Unknown

Of lava fountains, and bubbling lakes

Electrical Storms that light up the skies

Random thoughts - I don't know why?


A beautiful mind, is so hard to see

is it mine? or is it thee?

Composer, Creator, Story Narrator

Genius, madman, anyone’s guess


This would take it in a new direction

A sea of new anxiety, a temperature of an infection

Tossed and turned as a roller coaster

no hand rails, all ships sails are ripped and torn


Savage waves, and darkened skies

Trash me till I'm overboard by surprise

Slowly sinking, drowning, blinking

Frowning, drifting into the deep abyss


The blackness welling as dark as space

I can no longer my hand in front of face

mind drifting into another world

slipping through another hole


Blinding light, ahead in sight

Am I right in thinking - that I am dead?

Between two worlds, plays in my head

Or am I lying a sleep-in bed?


Beautiful minds are so hard to find

like fireflies dancing in the skies

keeping your eyes forever mesmerized

Make a wish, and hold that thought.


This piece I would like to think is finished and complete and yet, it may easily be just a work in progress. As on another day, I might have something different to say. A beautiful mind is about what we all actually have, but not many of us see it like that.


Sometimes I think we can be our own personal tormentors which really isn't beautiful at all when you think about it. Perhaps we need to tell ourselves from time to time, actually we do have a beautiful mind.


For many of us, I would say that we may be extremely critical of ourselves and sadly we really don't acknowledge that side of ourselves. Perhaps that in itself is worth exploring and working on as in improving our own view and perception of ourselves.


I know that at times, I have a beautiful mind, and equally I know at times it's not as beautiful as I would like it to be. There is an inner conflict that wages war and that goes on all the time for me. Some might identify with the same, whilst others may totally disagree.


All I am saying is how I feel, and for me this is real.



If you would like to follow Denis or buy his book, click on the links below.












30 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page