top of page
Search

Mothering Autism

We take each moment day by day

Expressing much with nothing to say

Intensified feelings and sensitive to light

Looking at the world through black and white

Sounds are intense and light touches are not wanted

Bear hugs he embraces and brings my heart delight

The tiny, red ball he likes to roll

This makes him feel in control

Slight, small squeezes calm him down

The pressure keeps him from expressing frowns

While at the park, he plays with gravel

Sensory experiences every time we travel

Tasting everything that’s in sight

Making certain what he holds is alright

Crying every time he wakes

When upset, he flaps and shakes

His smile is unlike any other

I’m overwhelmed that I’m his mother

So much love he gives to me

I’m truly glad God gave you to me


*This poem is published in the Autism Parenting Magazine in the October issue of 2020


29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page