top of page
Search

Restlessness

I am sitting here in my mess Feeling damned and distressed Waiting for my chance to flee Out the door to my eternity To a place where I belong A place where I am loved by all and where I stand strong Out this door to a place far away But close enough where I'm still by the bay The water is restless It calls me at night I spread out my arms like a bird in flight The wind in my hair The sand on my feet A glorious place for me to think The stars shine like diamonds in the sky Putting a twinkle deep in my eye My heart is wild with passion to spare Oh, how that someone must be out there! And so, my journey must begin In the depth of my soul I feel it deep within

By: Brittany Benko

This poem was written in my early twenties. I was desperate to get out of an abusive relationship I felt stuck in.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page