top of page
Search

The Silent Type

What is it you're trying to say?

Can you hear that sound?

You always seem so far away

Living in a bubble on the ground

You smile at me and I know your heart is full of love

Spinning in circles in pure delight

Pinching and biting with an upset glove

You do not speak, but make sweet sounds

You cling to Mommy tight

Squeezing stress balls calms your soul

It makes you feel alright

I know you have a lot to say even thought you're the silent type

I dream of the day you'll tell me, " I love you and goodnight"

We try to get you to sign so we'll always know

What you want and what you need

It does not matter how you express yourself

You are special that shines with a glow

This poem is in the November issue of the Autism Parenting Magazine 2020. This poem was inspired by my son, Isaac, who was just diagnosed with moderate autism.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page